News:

The Best Fishing Forum In The UK.
Do You Have What It Takes To Be A Member?

Main Menu
Please consider a donation to help with the running costs of this forum.

March Brown Spider (SBS)

Started by Clan Ford, April 20, 2009, 07:17:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Clan Ford

I've never done an SBS before so I apologise for the lack of consistency in the photos (really should have borrowed a tripod from work :roll:).  I've just dispatched a few materials off to RichardL for tying spiders, so I thought I best actually try show him how I tie them - this one is for you Richard :D

Hook - Kamasan B175 Size 10
Thread - Benecchi's 12/0 - Wine (I think)
Rib - Yellow thread form tesco
Overbody - UTC Vinyl Rib (Olive) - its like flexi floss
Tail - Copper Crystal flash
Thorax - Brown SLF mixed with hare.
Hackle  - partridge dyed olive - off a skin from Cookshill (Steve really does produce some excellent materials)

[attachimg=1]
Wind on the Thread

[attachimg=2]
Catch in the Crystal Flash, the vinyl and the yellow thread

[attachimg=3]
Wind the wine thread back up the hook in close turns then rib with the yellow. trim off the end.

[attachimg=4]
Wind the vinyl rib up the body in touching turns, pulling tight to keep the profile slim.  Trim off the end.

[attachimg=5]
Pull the fluffy stuff down the quill of the feather and tie in.

[attachimg=6]
Trim the feather, leaving just the top section for the hackle.

[attachimg=7]
Build a thorax by dubbing some SLF/Hare at the back of the hackle.

[attachimg=8]
Use the hackle pliers to put one turn round the hook shank.

[attachimg=9]
Wind the hackle back a bit to create a head and whip finish for the end product.

I've had the vinyl rib stuff for a while but never really used it but Col's flexi-floss SBS's inspired me to tie up a few flies with it.  I've never tried it in spiders but it worked Ok at the weekend :8)

Norm

Clan Ford

Here's a few variations that I like, again incorperating the vinyl rib stuff:-

[attachimg=1]