News:

The Best Fishing Forum In The UK.
Do You Have What It Takes To Be A Member?

Main Menu
Please consider a donation to help with the running costs of this forum.

March Brown Emerger - Step by Step

Started by rabbitangler, April 21, 2009, 12:44:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rabbitangler

Following on from Clan Fords Spider heres another step by step

This is my first attempt at a SBS so please be gentle with me    :cheers;

The March Brown Emerger

Hook    - I?ve used a partridge E1AY Barbless, but any lightweight size 12 will do.

Tail   - Origionally several fibres of deer hair, but I now use Moser Dust Fibre.
Thread   - Light Brown or whatever you prefer.
Body    - Light(ish) Hares ear, dubbed.
Wing   - Ginger(ish) Poly Yarn
Thorax   - Dark hares ear, dubbed
Hackle   - Red game or Furnace palmered over the Thorax ? trimmed flat.

Step 1   - Start thread and catch in 4 or 5 deer hairs or a thin bunch of Dust Fibre as a tail.

Step 2 ? Dub the thread with the hares ear and wind a slim, tapering body

Step 3   - Tie in a short length of Poly yarn over the body.

Step 4   -  Catch in a Furnace/Red Game hackle

Step 5      - Dub some darker hares ear onto the thread and wind a thorax

Step 6   - Wind 2 or 3 turns of hackle over the thorax

Step 6   - Whip finish then trim the hackle either a vee from the bottom or completely flat

Step 7   - The finished fly.

This is my most successful dry fly for big fish but it catches outside of March Brown time and has worked on lochs & Stillwater as well as rivers. Hope you feel it?s worth a try.

haresear

Good timing Peter. That one worked for me last year on the Don, so I was hoping to tie some up tomorrow night.

Alex
Protect the edge.

.D.

Quote from: rabbitangler on April 21, 2009, 12:44:11 AM

This is my most successful dry fly for big fish but it catches outside of March Brown time and has worked on lochs & Stillwater as well as rivers. Hope you feel it?s worth a try.