News:

The Best Fishing Forum In The UK.
Do You Have What It Takes To Be A Member?

Main Menu
Please consider a donation to help with the running costs of this forum.

Partridge and Orange

Started by scotfly, September 09, 2007, 01:40:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

scotfly

In an other post I offered a way of using Partridge hackles that were too big for the given hook. I think the best way to show it is as part of a step by step. So this is it. This is a good way of using up all the Partridge (and other) feathers which are too big for normal use. The fly here is a variation of the famous Partridge and Orange. I have tied it ?Clyde? style. It is important that you do not use a ?bonded? thread such as UNI. It can be split, but it is extremely difficult. Here I have used UTC, but there are other suitable threads.
This is not a complete beginners sbs and is therefore not as detailed. Some knowledge is assumed, but if there is anything you don?t understand please ask.

Instructions assume right-handed tyers.

HOOK ? Kamasan B170 #16
THREAD ? Fluorescent Orange UTC70
RIB ? Dark Red Copper Wire
HACKLE ? Brown Partridge

STEP 1
Attach the thread and wrap approximately half way down the shank, catching the rib in under the shank as you go. Then wrap the thread back to the shoulder.

STEP 2
Follow with the rib and tie off.

STEP 3
Split the thread, making a loop. I find the best way to do this is to spin the bobbin anti-clockwise to take and twist out of the thread, then press your index finger against the back of the thread to flatten it, and finally use a needle to split it. Be careful you don?t stab yourself!

STEP 4
At this point I insert my dubbing needle into the loop to hold it open while I prepare the Partridge fibres.
Take a Partridge feather.

Strip the waste flue from it and pull the required amount of fibres out from the stem. Keep the tips aligned.

Then pull them away from the stem.

If you aligned the tips properly they should look like this.

STEP 5