News:

The Best Fishing Forum In The UK.
Do You Have What It Takes To Be A Member?

Main Menu
Please consider a donation to help with the running costs of this forum.

Any advice for a novice tyer?

Started by Guddler, October 27, 2009, 08:52:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Guddler

After laying out the princely sum of ?2.73 for an assortment of fly tying bits and bobs in an ebay auction I'm champing at the bit for it to arrive so I can introduce myself to this dark art.

[attachimg=1]

I'm sure that half the stuff will turn out to be nae use but it should at least let me have a go and see if I can make anything of it. I've been trawling around the fly tying section and following some of the links provided - you all make it look so easy but I'm damned sure its not!
So, where should an absolute novice start? Are there any patterns that I should try or am I better to just play around with hooks and thread and fur and feathers to see if I can manage some of the basic skills needed? Any advice gratefully accepted.

haresear

I have a cheek to give advice, as I'm sure any real tyers who have seen my motley collection will agree.

I would try something palmered like a Zulu. You are likely to have all the ingredients...and it catches fish. It will teach you proportion, hackling and ribbing. Black pennel would be another good option if there are pheasant tippets in the kit. If not, just tie a black spider.

Just read bordertroot's reply. Great minds think alike :)

Alex
Protect the edge.

rabbitangler

Best thing to do is find someone who ties flies locally & ask for help. If you are near a fly dressers guild thats as good a place as any. Otherwise there are some good step by steps on the forum. If I could suggest one starting point it would be to practice how to whip finish till you can almost do it in your sleep, that way you can finish a fly well without tears and without it falling to bits.

Peter

Wildfisher