News:

The Best Fishing Forum In The UK.
Do You Have What It Takes To Be A Member?

Main Menu
Please consider a donation to help with the running costs of this forum.

Why Tie?

Started by StuDoig, April 13, 2011, 01:48:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

StuDoig

Heyho Folks,
                Now, I'm still fairly new to the flyfishing game (started last year) and have been debating whether or not to tie my own flies.

On one hand there are quality tiers out there that I can simply purchase flies I want / like from and save the hassle, on the other I generally really enjoy making things myself and the satisfaction that comes with it compared to paying for someone else to make the effort.

On financial grounds, I'm sure over a lifetime tying my own would work out a little better once the initial cost of tools has been swallowed, but its not a financial call really.

I think the biggest attraction for me is to be making something myself that I'll then go on to use (assuming its worth tying on!), but I'm also aware of the flaw in the thinking if it winds up being a botched effort and the length of time it can take to become good enough at any craft/trade to make the end effort worthwhile.  Whilst some flies look pretty straightforward (and I'm sure are once you have a few basic techniques mastered) others look horrendously difficult!

I don't have a great deal of spare time with other hobbies, work and hopefully a bit more frequent fishing - does it absorb huge amounts of time to become worthwhile?

What are folks thoughts on how worthwhile tying is? (I'm aware that the fact I'm posting in the tying foum may bias an answer  :))