News:

The Best Fishing Forum In The UK.
Do You Have What It Takes To Be A Member?

Main Menu
Please consider a donation to help with the running costs of this forum.

Absolute beginner to first fly

Started by scotfly, April 17, 2011, 12:41:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

scotfly

I had intended putting this up here a while ago but had forgotten until a recent thread on here. So here it is now.
Warning ? This thread is very long. I have tried to cover as much as possible to get you started.
Don?t let the length of this post put you off. With a little practice you will be able to tie flys like this in a couple of minute.

It is my hope that this, and a few subsequent threads I have planned, will take you from absolute beginner to reasonably confident enough to tie most of the basic patterns you will use.
Remember though, if there is anything you don?t understand or if you spot something I haven?t explained please ask.
I will apologise in advance for the poor quality of some of pictures and video, photography is not my strong point.

Some points to bear in mind with this and subsequent threads.
There are very few rights or wrongs in flytying. For the most part there are simply others ways of achieving the same results or other ways that, governed by other factors, are a better choice of method.
The methods I am about to show you are just one way, they are not meant to be taken as the ?only? way or the ?best? way. Take them and use them as a base upon which to build your portfolio of skills.
Much of what I say or show here will be my opinion. I?m neither infallible nor omnipotent, listen to what other experienced tyers say to you. Then together with your own experiences you can form your own opinions.

All instructions assume right-handed tyers

Sorry all you lefties, I can?t tie left handed so you will have to turn everything around to suit you.

Right, let?s begin.