News:

The Best Fishing Forum In The UK.
Do You Have What It Takes To Be A Member?

Main Menu
Please consider a donation to help with the running costs of this forum.

flys for wild trout...and why!!

Started by pedropete, April 07, 2018, 06:45:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pedropete

evening folks,

as most of you know I'm pretty new to the wild fishing mullarkey,  very new in fact, but so far so good, I'm still trying to get to grips with fly design, shape, size ribbing etc..for wild trout, maybe some of the forum members with more experience than me could make a comment regarding rules of thumb so to speak,Andy had a bash at explaining to me about fly size and the wisdom behind it, thanks for that, made a lot of sense

1...fly colour choice versus watercolour/quality, peaty lochs, limestone, highland

2...wide tinsel ribs on wets/palmers etc as opposed to ovals and wire ribs on western isles flys v mainland/highland

and again maybe a few words on your experience on fly size in general or specific if you like.

please feel free to add anything else you think relevant!!

cheers.

SoldierPmr

I'm not the best to ask about pretty flys. Like Dave I like to make big bold streamers larger the better I could go all day and get one fish on them but it's usually a lump. For both river and still water. When fishing traditional wets I never moved far from size 12s and 14s for still waters.

corsican dave

wide tinsel vs. oval sounds very techy to me. my rule of thumb is there are no rules. switch it up, ring the changes, watch what's going on and adapt & improvise.... i'd say don't get hung up on it too much and try & think like a fish  :8)
If people don't occasionally walk away from you shaking their heads, you're probably doing something wrong - John Gierach

pedropete