News:

The Best Fishing Forum In The UK.
Do You Have What It Takes To Be A Member?

Main Menu
Please consider a donation to help with the running costs of this forum.

Casting technique

Started by Wildfisher, April 27, 2006, 03:53:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wildfisher

I am also self taught. Happy enough most of the time, but loop control lets me down a bit when casting into a wind.  Trouble is,  if you don't know what is wrong how do you  fix it?  I too got some pointers from Paul and Magnus, so now I know.  All I have to do now is find the time to practice. 35 years of bad habits are not easy to change though. I was quite pleased when Magnus told me my casting was OK soemtimes………… now I know why it sometimes is not…………….my control of arc, plane and drift back  is not consistent enough. The timing of the haul on the forward cast also needs  work.

Bob Wyatt

Swihun,

Casting is at the very heart of fly fishing IMO. The better you get at it, the better and more enjoyable the fly fishing gets.  Almost as important, the other guy in the boat will enjoy it better too.  Nothing worse than some plonker next to you screwing up every cast and fankling yours all day long.

On the "Well, I still catch fish argument", I like what old Lefty says about that.. cast better and you'll catch even MORE fish.   :wink:

I feel that too much is made of distance casting though.  There are lots of extremely useful casts that every trout fisher should have in his repertoire, distance is probably the least important of them for fishing.  That said, to cast a long distance requires good technique, so its sort of built in.

For our trout fishing up here, roll casting, switch casting, reach casts, and all sorts of slack line presentation casts are all very important.  Accuracy is worth some consideration too, even on lochs.  [/i]

Richy

Swithun,

Have to admit that my casting is mince and blame fishing overgrown river banks and casting under low tree branches.