News:

The Best Fishing Forum In The UK.
Do You Have What It Takes To Be A Member?

Main Menu
Please consider a donation to help with the running costs of this forum.

Milbro

Started by Wildfisher, December 31, 2020, 12:20:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wildfisher

I was raking about in my fishing gear and came across this fly rod I have had since I was a teenager.
A Scottish made Milbro Tru-fly, 9 foot, for a a #6 line. Motherwell I think the factory was.
It is impossible to convey with mere words how horrible these rods were and still are.
Heavy, floppy and unresponsive. They were easy to cast though, soft actioned and very forgiving for self taught fly fishers,  ideal for ingraining sloppy,  poor casting techniques that never leave you.  :(

Check out the metal ferrules and tiny rod rings. Cutting edge in 1965.   :lol:

[attachimg=1]

[attachimg=2]

superscot

Fred never had the fly rod but mind of a green coloured spinning rod which was indestructible if I mind right. Also now selling for £65 quid on eBay 

Wildfisher

I loved these rods Colin. but looking back they were pretty dire.  :lol:

arawa

I think I still have one of their spinning rods tucked away somewhere. Used it for worming in the burns with an Intrepid Black Knight reel. Back in the mid 60s I thought the rod and reel were the bees knees. Caught a lot of trout too  :D

Highlander

They were not dire at the time it was what we had. I had the same rod as a youth & never did me any harm in later years. At the time was thought to be "the best" of the hollow glass rods with it's rubber O ring at the male ferrule. Designed by Peter Anderson & certainly did not hinder his casting abilities Superscot the rod you are thinking of is the Milbro Spinwell Green solid glass with red whippings  The Milbro factory was in Carfin near Motherwell now Daiwa & still making rods to this day.
Tight Lines
" The Future's Bright The Future's Wet Fly"

Nemo me impune lacessit

Wildfisher