News:

The Best Fishing Forum In The UK.
Do You Have What It Takes To Be A Member?

Main Menu
Please consider a donation to help with the running costs of this forum.

which flies please

Started by dazdidge, March 20, 2010, 09:31:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dazdidge

I know......................you have read it and answered it a hundred times already. Obviously I am new to river fishing and would like to know what flies to stock up on, and secondly where is a good place to buy them? Please don't say "the usual suspects" as to me that normally means black and green tadpoles, yellow dancers and rather garishly coloured fritzy things which is exactly what I am trying to get away from. I will mainly be fishing the Ericht in Blairgowrie if it helps. Would I be right in assuming klinkhammers, cdc emergers and spiders would be a good place to start for dries? What about hares ear and pheasent tails for under the water. And lastly, does powerbait really work?

thanks
darren

Malcolm

We've all got out favourites but I'd feel lost without my sparkle duns and black gnats.
There's nocht sae sober as a man blin drunk.
I maun hae goat an unco bellyfu'
To jaw like this

Hans

You can hardly go wrong with the flies you already menion in your post.
For nymphs Hare's ears and pheasanttail will do the job, be sure to stock a few in different sizes.
Klinkies and CDC-patterns are good dries, as well as Comparadunns, and a few other deer-hair patterns like Buck-Caddis.
Depends a bit what time of the year you are fishing, dry Bibio's can sometimes save your day.
In high summer Daddy Longlegs can work surprisingly well.
There are some pretty good tyers on this forum, I guess someone will be able and willing to tie you a few.
If you send me a PM with a list of what sorts you would like I would be happy to tie you a few...
Best wishes from Holland,
Hans

haresear

Darren,