News:

The Best Fishing Forum In The UK.
Do You Have What It Takes To Be A Member?

Main Menu
Please consider a donation to help with the running costs of this forum.

Entomology: fly life in rivers and lochs

Started by Black-Don, February 17, 2011, 09:40:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Black-Don

I'm no expert on entomology but thought it would be very useful for a layman such as myself to have a better knowledge of the subject without it being too scientific. With this in mind I decided to do a short post on Caddis flies and  have, as a result, learned so very much more about them in the process. I hope you will find this of interest.

Caddis / Sedge flies

Caddis Larvae, Emergers and Adults

Caseless Caddis Larvaeheadwaters.co.uk )

Cased Caddis Larvaemagickcanoe.com )

Adult Caddis Flynatureconservationimaging.com )

Caddis flies are found near Loch's and rivers. They are known to form large swarms around trees and shrubs where they will mate and lay their eggs. The bright green eggs then fall or wash off into a stream or loch, the eggs sink to the bottom and after about a week and a half they hatch into caseless larvae. Here they swim and crawl around the bottom of the loch or river where they live. All this time, they grow and form cocoons of silk, small stones and debris until ready to emerge and hatch. When ready to hatch, they climb free of their cocoons, swim to the surface and emerge as the adult Caddis/Sedge flies upon which the cycle begins again.

Useful flies:- Peeping Caddis, Larger Buzzers and Nymphs, Elk Hair Caddis, Murrough, Brown Clinkhammer and appropriate Sedge patterns.

There is a good Wikipedia article on the subject here, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caddisfly

Caddis flies are also known as Sedge or Rail flies.

This is in no way intended to be a definitive description of the life cycle of the Caddis and any further information or photographs on the insects or suggested fishing patterns is more than welcome.

whinging pom