News:

The Best Fishing Forum In The UK.
Do You Have What It Takes To Be A Member?

Main Menu
Please consider a donation to help with the running costs of this forum.

Vaude Power Lizard modifications

Started by caorach, April 12, 2017, 01:14:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

caorach

I posted this on the Bushcraft forum but thought it might also be of interest to those who like fishing the more remote spots and enjoy a bit of camping. Again, as you know, I'm far from an expert at all of this and I'm sure everyone on here is well ahead of me but just in case it might inspire someone...

When I got a good deal on a Vaude Power Lizard SUL 1 - 2 person tent (who on earth thought up that name?) I went for it as it seemed ideal for my wild camping at trout lochs, mostly because I'm a 10 stone weakling who can't carry much weight. Most of my camping looks like this:

As you can see the ground isn't the most even and it is also generally very soft, often I'm pegging into sphagnum moss rather than solid earth and, in truth, solid earth is not something there is an excess of until you dig down about 4 feet. Vaude do supply pegs with the tent but they are tiny titanium things which are, probably, great on soil but I need something rather bigger: here are the Vaude pegs compared to what I actually use: