News:

The Best Fishing Forum In The UK.
Do You Have What It Takes To Be A Member?

Main Menu
Please consider a donation to help with the running costs of this forum.

Grandad didn't have it so Bad

Started by Malcolm, September 04, 2009, 11:57:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Malcolm

First a wee word about the casting club.

One of the things I like about the casting club is that it is so informal. There are people there who are approachable and who know what they are doing (Alan, Alberto, Alex etc etc), people like me - and I suspect many on the forum - who are competent but don't know what they are doing, absolute beginners and even salmon fishermen. Something Buzz said in a post made me decide before I went that I wasn't going to listen to any instruction on any cast I felt comfortable with despite the technical flaws that are so ingrained into me but that's fine - there's lots of new stuff to learn. It's also a great way to try out the latest tackle - as long as it's a 5 weight!

Last night, in between helping a couple of absolute beginners (Alan they are now corrupted) I decided to bring along some old old tackle and spent a fair bit  of time trying to get the best out of glass and cane. This is something you just wouldn't do on a river - you'd be too busy fishing.

My conclusion is that at practical fishing distances a decent rod of cane or glass will do everything that a ?400+ carbon rod will do. Sometimes better. I admit I have used glass rods on an irregular basis but I may just use these older rods more. At very short distances their swing weight helps accuracy and feel. Once you get used to it. At medium distances they will flick out a line totally effortlessly. Only at extreme - and I do mean extreme - distance is the cane found wanting. I suspect some of this in fact has to do with the rings. The rings are tiny on mine.